Skip to main content

LATICS KICK OFF AT HOME TO READING

Wigan Reading Waghorn Maloney

Wigan Athletic v Reading - Martyn Waghorn and Shaun Maloney celebrate.

PUBLISHED

10:37 18th June 2014

by Wigan Athletic

Latics start 2014-15 Sky Bet Championship campaign at home to potential promotion rivals.

Uwe Rosler will begin his first full campaign in charge of Wigan Athletic with a home game against one of the closest rivals in last year’s race to the Play-Offs, Reading, before two long trips to Charlton Athletic and relegated Cardiff City. He will finish off the campaign with a trip to his former club Brentford.

The Sky Bet Championship fixtures were published this morning and the Latics manager said: “To begin with a home game is a great opportunity to make a good start but it’s a long season and it’s all about how consistent we can be over the entire season.”

Latics travel to Elland Road to face Leeds United on Boxing Day, and other stand out dates are the derby games versus Bolton Wanderers (Home March 2, Away November 8), Blackburn Rovers (Home January 17, Away September 13) and Blackpool (Home August 23, Away February 28). 

The final run-in features three trips to London to face Fulham, Millwall and Brentford and back to back home games versus Brighton and Wolves. 

Latics face some daunting midweek away trips to Cardiff, Brighton, Norwich and Millwall.

Wigan Athletic Sky Bet Fixtures 2014-15 (subject to change)

Sat Aug 9:         Reading H
Sat Aug 16: Charlton Athletic A
Tue Aug 19: Cardiff City A
Sat Aug 23: Blackpool H
Sat Aug 30: Birmingham City H
Sat Sep 13: Blackburn Rovers A
Tue Sep 16: Huddersfield Town A
Sat Sep 20: Ipswich Town H
Sat Sep 27: AFC Bournemouth A
Tue Sep 30: Nottingham Forest H
Sat Oct 4:         Wolverhampton Wanderers A
Sat Oct 18: Brentford H
Tue Oct 21: Millwall H
Sat Oct 25: Derby County A
Sat Nov 1:         Fulham H
Tue Nov 4:         Brighton and Hove Albion A
Sat Nov 8:         Bolton Wanderers A
Sat Nov 22: Middlesbrough H
Sat Nov 29: Sheffield Wednesday A
Sat Dec 6:         Norwich City H
Sat Dec 13: Watford A
Sat Dec 20: Rotherham United H
Fri Dec 26:  Leeds United A
Sun Dec 28: Sheffield Wednesday H
Sat Jan 10: Birmingham City A
Sat Jan 17: Blackburn Rovers H
Sat Jan 24: Huddersfield Town H
Sat Jan 31: Ipswich Town A
Sat Feb 7:         AFC Bournemouth H
Wed Feb 11:      Nottingham Forest A
Sat Feb 14: Reading A
Sat Feb 21: Charlton Athletic H
Tue Feb 24: Cardiff City H
Sat Feb 28: Blackpool A
Tue Mar 3:         Norwich City A
Sat Mar 7:         Leeds United H
Sat Mar 14: Rotherham United A
Tue Mar 17: Watford H
Sat Mar 21: Bolton Wanderers H
Sat Apr 4:   Middlesbrough A
Mon Apr 6: Derby County H
Sat Apr 11: Fulham A
Tue Apr 14: Millwall A
Sat Apr 18: Brighton and Hove Albion H
Sat Apr 25: Wolverhampton Wanderers H 
Sat May 2: Brentford A

Click here to link to the Official Fixtures Page.

    Related Articles